Day 03 – Shoulders, Biceps & Triceps

Good workout this morning.  I’m putting up good numbers that are at the top end of anything I’ve ever put up in P90X before.  I’m setting a solid base that I can use for improvement.

During the videos Tony Horton is constantly pushing you to write down what you did.  He’s right.  My workout sheet has a single page for each workout type.  So next week, when I’m doing this workout again I can immediately see what I did today and I can push myself further, even if it’s a tiny bit: 2.5 more lbs or 1 more rep.  In two weeks I can look back and see that I’ve improved and push even harder to keep that momentum.

Only one sour note today: my knees are very unhappy. Thankfully, they didn’t get much action this morning.  I’ll try Plyo X again next week, but if they start complaining again I’m going to have to swap in Cardio X instead.

Near the end of the workout, one of the support muscles in the back of my left shoulder started tweaking and spasming.  From previous experience I know that that muscle would have stayed tight all day and possibly put strain on my neck as the two muscle fought.  My neck is one of my historic weak points for injury.  A lady holding the two sizes of RumbleRoller

So I pulled out my RumbleRoller and set to work.  (thanks to Tom K. who told me about RumbleRollers)  After a minute of discomfort I felt the muscle stop spasming.  So go RumbleRoller.

On a side note, completely unrelated to working out, but something that I’m excited about: my iPad 3 is in transit and should be here tomorrow 😀

Leave a Reply

